top of page

Talking With Strangers

Updated: Feb 27, 2019

Your parents probably told you not to talk to strangers as a kid. To me, strangers are treated like friends, but they just don't need to know my mother's maiden name, the name of my first pet, & the password to my wifi.



Last week I put up a silly picture of myself on social media with a caption that read:


"There are so many amazing people in this group! All I want is to connect with you, get to know you & get to know the potential I know is inside!

This summer has had me indoors & away from people so much this extrovert needs some people time! This is all about YOU, so if you just want to tell me stories, vent, or talk business, I'm all for it!"

The feedback was incredible.

The feedback was incredible. Many strangers and a few friends typed "Let's Connect." and I began setting up times to chat. Soon my week was full & this outgoing extrovert began to perk up again!

Hidden Agenda

Everything we do is in some way to fill our own needs, but the real question is to what extent. For me, I just needed connection with someone who wasn't 8 years old and bored.

Stress manifests in the body when we don't deal with it mentally and the best way to do that is to process it! I wanted to allow people to opportunity to talk things out and get the weight off their chest...literally!

Watching people brighten, smile & exert more energy is just more proof for how much good can come out of small efforts. Comments of being inspired, motivated and having more clarity came flowing out and I can take a good guess that the actions taken afterward were more aligned & focused.

YOU Can Do Amazing Things

People do their best work when they feel like they matter. We all want to be appreciated, valued, loved, understood, supported, & part of something beyond ourselves.

People do their best work when they feel like they matter.

Meeting complete strangers and seeing the difference a listening ear can make in helping them spread their gift, is so inspiring! Next time you go networking, let the goal be to listen more. You'll create those deeper connections you've been looking for because you're supporting their needs.

Now go out, talk to strangers, make connections, and change the world with your super powers! Your gift to the world is you and you are enough!

Much love, Laura Lake

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page