top of page

I Have A Belief...


My thumb is so "green" I can accidentally kill a bamboo.

Beliefs & Dreams

When I think of people wanting to change the world, I think of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr's famous speech, "I have a dream."It was a defining moment that affected millions of people. He painted a picture of clarity and urged action through education, inspiration, and peace. We all have beliefs that drive our actions. Why do YOU want to change the world?


Architectural Beginnings

Ever since my career started in architectural design over 16 years ago, I've always been concerned about the environment & the people in it. At first it was about sustainability through efficiency, design practices, and rating systems. Then I discovered niche areas like active design and environmental psychology.

"Then I discovered niche areas like active design and environmental psychology."

I wanted to make a difference in how people used buildings, spaces, and the land they're on. You don't mold the land & people to the building, you design the building to support the people & integrate with the land.


The Belief That Drives Me With a focus on community-based commercial buildings at work & wellness coaching on the side, I started to get clarity into what it was I was striving for. I was helping people work, play, and live better all while guiding people toward better environmental practices through sustainable architecture. Basically, I was helping people live sustainable lifestyles! Then I made up a word.

Now She's Making Up Words! Sustyleable. It's a blend of the words "sustainable" & "lifestyle." That's exactly what I believe!

I believe human health is closely linked to the health of the planet. I believe since we use up and control a lot of the worlds resources, that we have a duty to live sustainably. (Personally, the thought of my family living on Mars scares me.) I believe the healthier the planet is, the better it can support our needs even if populations continue to increase.

"I believe human health is closely linked to the health of the planet."

Sustyleable Design™ is the design of sustainable lifestyles with these beliefs at the core. That's why I have a weird made up word for my company name. We need to learn how we can all level up our performance while keeping it sustainable for both us and the planet. Your Beliefs You don't have to make up a word, but I'd love to know what is at your core. What is your mission? What guides your choices? What are you working toward? What are the beliefs that drive your business? Share YOUR business beliefs on social media! Use the hashtag #BEDMASlife.

Learn, Love & keep your Momentum,

Laura Lake <3

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page